It’s not all rainbows and butterflies…

“You don’t look sick…” Um, thanks? I’m glad my fake smile looks real! I get compliments all the time, and I really do appreciate it, often when I feel bad I don’t feel pretty. This is a touchy subject for people with an “invisible illness” because we don’t want to get mad at people, or at least I don’t. They didn’t purposefully say it like that (or maybe they did) but they didn’t hopefully mean anything by it.

Well anyways, I had a rough day. First things first, I would just like to vent for a moment because I had three tests in three different classes all in a row today. Teachers, can you please please please find another way to torture us? Because that is just cruel. I swear, I love my teachers, but they need to plan better. Also, fire drills at school: not the best way to start out the morning when you have sound sensitivity and they decide to blast a loud screeching sound at 8:30 in the morning to a bunch of half asleep teenagers. So I went to the counseling office and took a nice nap. And then again I took another nap this afternoon and slept fifty minutes into my history class. Lovely. I know a lot of POTS kids can’t go to school, and I do feel lucky enough to have my symptoms managed enough to be able to go, but boy, its not all its cracked up to be. I go to school, come home and crash. Literally. My body aches, my head hurts, I feel like I could either throw up or pass out, or both. Note: Teachers who keep their air conditioning running even though it’s only 70 degrees outside; can you just not? Your room is like 60 degrees and the constant cold is killing (read KILLING) my head. Here’s my advice for the day; stay positive even when things seem to not be going your way. Yes, I had a bad day, but it’s just one bad day, hopefully tomorrow will be better. Also a quick note before I go, my baby dog Teegan (who isn’t really a baby anymore, she’s six!) is having mouth surgery tomorrow morning, so please pray that it goes well! Thanks so much!

Bethany

One thought on “It’s not all rainbows and butterflies…

Leave a comment